Recognizing the Faculty Members

Behind the sucess of Remedios Trinidad Romualdez Medical Foundation College of Nursing are nurse educators who are well-driven, goal-oriented and passionate in igniting the fire within the hearts of student nurses toward striving for excellence.

Living up to the principle,

We don’t watch things happen, we make things happen.

The Faculty Members

FRANCIS R. OGRIMEN

26 years of age, worked as a theatre nurse for five years. At present, a clinical instructor in RTR College of Nursing for almost a year.

Balancing life as an individual and as a professional

These days, work-life balance can seem like an impossible feat. As a professional nurse, I know firsthand how difficult it can be to find the balance between nursing career and personal life. The compounding stress from the never-ending workday is damaging, as it can hurt relationships, health and overall happiness. Personally, to maintain homeostasis between work and personal life I observe certain activities that is right for me. First, I let go of perfectionism. Perfectionism can become destructive. Second, I create boundaries. I don’t take my laptop to bed or any work-related stuff. I don’t answer phone calls at the dinner table. There are times when I just shut my cellular phone off. By not reacting to the notifications from work, my boss and workmates will understand my availability. Lastly, I go to church to hear mass and to spend Holy Hour before the Blessed Sacrament twice or thrice a week. The value of conversation with Christ in the Blessed Sacrament is great. There is nothing more consoling on earth than talking to Jesus. These are my simple ways to achieve a work-life balance, so I don’t end up burned out and overwhelmed, and to avoid putting my health at risk.

Achievements accomplished as a professional nurse.

Care accomplishment for my patients: A patient contacted me to tell me what my kindness meant to him. I am most proud of the human connection and impact I’ve made with my patients, giving them comfort in one of their darkest hours. 

Role accomplishment for my junior nurses: Anytime I run into one of my old trainees who has graduated from the training course and working successfully! I love seeing them being confident and competent in the field. 

For the students: It is my greatest achievement seeing first year students start to develop the grit/attitude of not “GIVING UP” on challenging return demonstrations and mind-boggling examinations. 

Perceptions and principles in teaching that is effective for nursing students

For eleven consecutive years, the College of Nursing has produced 100 per cent passing rate with board placers and globally competitive nurses. The college uses a learner-centered approach to teaching and learning that encompasses a variety of inquiry teaching and learning approaches to further our mandate of fostering excellence in nursing education, research and practice. Also, the College of Nursing is committed to offering diversity in teaching and learning approaches and experiences to promote student engagement. Clinical instructors use a variety of classroom course delivery methods including, lectures, small and large group discussion, problem-based learning, and case analysis.

Transferring to a foreign country for work and the preparations for the challenges of intercultural communication in the nursing profession

In relation to intercultural communication, I took a 4-month language course, which is also a prerequisite to obtain a work visa. Though Ireland’s first language is English, I prepared myself through learning basic Gaelic language, which is branch of the Celtic languages which spoken by the native Irish people. Learning basic Gaelic language will help me to render effective nursing care through effective communication. Additionally, I did extensive research on every aspect – from the registration process, laws and policy, nursing practices and procedures, to geography, costs and cultural practices. I also considered strengthening my coping mechanisms by talking to a life a coach.

I’m looking forward to working with other nurses who are very advanced in their training and who are research driven. I am extremely excited to develop my cultural awareness with them. Also, I’m looking forward to seeing some of the rest of the world, to live, work and become part of a community. Interestingly, I am having an extraordinary fascination with cloistered nuns today and I’m planning to visit a monastery as I am attracted to the self-sufficiency of convent life.

PAUL MICHAEL POBLETE, 34 years of age

I was born on April 10, in Saudi Arabia, where my mom was then working as a nurse, and my dad was a manager in a shipping company. I have 5 siblings, of which I am 4th of all children. Nursing actually runs in the family, aside from my mom and myself, my Ate, is also one, as well as my two younger sisters, and one of my brothers, though not a nurse, is a paramedic.

            It is always important to make time for everything, and the key to that is time management. Always designate time for your career/school, time for your family and friends, and for yourself. Prioritize what needs to be done, and do it, finish it as much as possible, so that you can have more time later to spend time with your family and friends, and for yourself. There should always be balance, work/school and leisure, because if you do one more than the other, you won’t be able to enjoy life.

            I graduated Nursing last 2005, took the board exams right after, and passed it on my first take. I took time for myself for almost a year, deciding what I wanted to do with my career. So I started working as a “Nurse” in 2006, and am one for almost 13 years now. I worked for 3years in Eastern Visayas Regional Medical Center, and was assigned in Pediatrics, and Neonatal Intensive Care Unit. Then I had the chance to work abroad, in the Middle East, and worked in the Renal Transplant Unit, of which I stayed for almost 8years. Theni decided to come back, and had the chance to work again back in EVRMC, and was assigned in the Department of Emergency Medicine, and worked there for more than a year, Theni decided to have a change of career, and try academe, and am now working as a Clinical Instructor

            As I always say, nobody is born great. You get to where you want to be with hard work and determination. In my nursing career, I take pride of being good at what I do, and that is because of years of experience and continuing to let myself learn from others. When I was in the Middle East, one of my achievements there was being able to work as a Head Nurse in the Transplant Department. But, having that said,  I believe that no amount of position, or however big your salary is, can compare to the mere fact that you were able to help a dying patient recover, witness and assist in life being born, being there with your patient until their las breath, the “thank you”’s that you get from the patients and their families, those are the achievements that count.

            To tell you honestly, I am still struggling with teaching, because this is my first time to do so. I would always wonder if I am an effective instructor, and if my students are really learning from me. But, having that said, I think my edge and an advantage that I have is years of experience in the field. You can always read, study and memorize books, but I think, me being able to have that years of experience, helps me in being an effective instructor.

            Being able to work in a foreign country, one of the struggles that you encounter is adjusting to their culture. Having worked in the Middle East, it being a “Muslim” country, was very challenging because their beliefs and way of life is very different from what I was used to. Another struggle was the language. It would have helped if they knew how to speak English, but most of them doesn’t know how. So what you do is educate yourself with their culture, their beliefs, so that you will know how to act and react to situations. Learn their language, especially those that are used frequently. There are a lot where you can learn from, learn from the people there, the locals, the expatriates like yourself who has been there longer than yourself, from the internet, and the most important thing there is your willingness to learn.

            Aside from the better pay, one thing that I was looking forward to in working abroad is the experience. Yes, you can have experience here, working in our country, but having to work abroad, you’d be able to work in an environment with better facilities, state of the art equipments, complete stocks, and be able to work effectively and efficiently.

THAIZA MITHEL D. CAJIGAS, 31 years of age

A mother and a wife. Started as a Clinical Instructor just last January 2019; but have been an employee for over 10 years already. Adores Jane Austen and J.K. Rowling, listening to music daily and currently finishing The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman.

Balancing life as an individual and as a professional

Time-management. As a mother, I have learned to multitask while balancing career and family life. Years of experience will make you realize the importance of prioritizing (which can be challenging at times). I make sure to create a mental checklist before starting my day.

How long have you been working as a professional nurse?

I earned my professional license last 2009. For ten years, I gained over 1 year of clinical experience. I have ventured to other career fields in between.

Achievements accomplished as a professional nurse

Being a professional and perseverance. It is with great pride that I carry a professional license daily and achieved high rating. There is a unique kind of respect we receive when people realize you are a nurse.

With the current status of health care in the country, sometimes it is hard for nurses to persist continuing their practice. On my first two years as a nursing student, I haven’t fully realized yet how endearing, heroic (at times) and underrated nurses were until I started my training in the hospitals. It gives you a sense of fulfillment at the end of the day.

Perceptions and principles in teaching that is effective for nursing students

Based on the Outcomes-Based curriculum, promoting independent learning has been proven to be more effective. This will teach future nurses to think out of the box and be more curious. This kind of principle will help them adopt to the challenging status of the country’s health care more realistically.

Tatyana Lauren P. Ajero, 30 years old

She is a nurse, a clinical instructor and a part time baker and business woman. A soon to be mother of two who values both excellence in academics and well roundedness in attitude. She have been a nurse for 8 years. She completed her  masters degree last 2014 and have been contributing in molding efficient nurses as a clinical instructor for the past 4 years.

Balancing life as an individual and as a professional

As a person who plays a role of being a nurse, mother, wife and business woman,time management and foreseeing are her activities allows her to ensure that all of her  responsibilities are fulfilled despite her busy schedule.

Challenges in Cultural Differences in Communication

She have encountered so many misunderstandings and miscommunications in her work place due to the  differences, such as culture, beliefs, and perceptions towards things. “The different struggle that I have faced is the conflicts that I have dealt with in dealing with patients who do not put their full trust in the health care system. A number of people still hold on to old beliefs that they tend to close their minds on new trends especially when it comes to treatment. Rigorous explanations on the benefits of what we do are needed plus ensuring that rapport is established to gain and keep their trust” she said.

As a clinical instructor, she also have encountered same conflicts in the teaching setting. That’s why being flexible and accepting the differences on how her students are allowed her to deal better especially when different personalities arise with different situations. She also have learned to see students more in a wider perspective to ensure that she have an understanding as to how they think the way they do.

Andrei Carlo C. de Veyra

32 years old

I am currently the assistant Dean of College of Nursing. I have been in the profession for 11 years. I started working as a volunteer nurse at Divine Word Hospital and after which I have been invited to teach here at the college of nursing.

Balancing life as an individual and as a professional

As a person you are composed of different aspects or different facets of your being. I am a son, I am a friend, I am a member of a larger community than just being a nurse or a professional. So basically, what I do I try to manage my time properly. So, there are times when Its my time for work I devote it for work, Whenever I’m with my family then I devote my time for my family.  I engaged in volunteer work, I am a member of organizations. I am an officer of Philippine Nursing Association, and also a member of AKMA resbak where we have socio civic activities, volunteer works, we go to the urban poor, we go to the rural poor to conduct health teachings, health education, medical mission so that’s my way of giving back and being involved in the community. There are tree planting activities, activities concerning the environment. I am a lecturer in church, I am a member of the lecturer’s guild of Our Lady of Lourdes parish at V&G Tacloban City. That’s also my way of giving attention to the spiritual aspect of myself. I travel, I go out with my friends a lot, Like say for example every weekend I go out with my friends at night whenever I am available, I spend majority of my time with my family so that’s basically how I balance the different aspects of my being.

Achievements accomplished as a professional nurse

Not solely my achievement but the achievement of my students because when you are a clinical instructor  if you see your students succeed and reached their dreams you feel accomplished, You get a sense of gratification and sense of fulfillment . Not necessarily that I consider myself as you know a big part of  their achievement, that’s not my perspective. I just see myself as their companion as they sow journ in achieving their dreams. Because basically its really the effort of the students. Im just there to facilitate, to guide them and to help them but not necessarily that you know I will credit everything for all of their success to the teacher. Its mostly or majority would be their work. So if I see my students succeed in their chosen career that for me is already my achievement.

Perceptions and principles in teaching that is effective for nursing students

 I could not really speak for myself it would be self-serving to say that I am really that effective in teaching, The principle I use in teaching is that, First you need to stimulate  the  interest of  the student in learning,  stimulate their critical thinking and analytical thinking that’s very very important for me because  if you already stimulate their interest in learning then they will be receptive, they’ll give you good response, another is you have to speak the language of the students, make sure that  the things which you teach them are of their level of understanding because it will be useless if you teach and use highfalutin words or words which the students could not really relate or concepts which the students could not really relate. And most importantly the third one is the things which you teach them, always relate it to practical application. You know to the day to day life. How will you use this learning in your practice in nursing. How are you going to use this in your day to day life. What is the importance of this. Because there are some teacher, I am not saying all, that would teach things and say things, enumerate things, discuss the book cover to cover but they fail to relate it to the actual practice, they fail to connect with the students  and to tell the students what is the importance  of this? What is the implication of this? How will I use this in the future. So it will render that the students has the impression that  this things that the teacher is teaching are basically useless and it just came from the book, you always have to relate it into practical application

Cultural challenges with regard to the nursing profession and in teaching

I guess there are times when the student will not be able to understand you. There are times that the student will misinterpret what you are saying,  because of the cultural differences. These words may not be offensive -well I do not know-  basically I have not  encountered those  problems THANK GOD, probably there are times that the student would be offended  with the things that you say or with the things that you try to convey but it may not be offensive  to our culture but it is offensive to their culture diba? For them it will be off but for me its not so basically that’s just the challenge. Pero naman I have been teaching for 11 years  kumbaga I have already learned how to adjust and as a nurse we are trained  to adjust, and to be very very sensitive in terms of cultural differences, in terms of communication you always have to be therapeutic and you always have to be sensitive

Leave a comment